Student Financial Services Division

Student Financial Services is responsible for the administration of the Canada Newfoundland and Labrador Student Financial Assistance Program. The Division establishes mechanisms for the receipt and processing of applications, determines eligibility for assistance, assesses the level and type of assistance through a needs assessment process, and approves the issuance of financial assistance.

The Division also provides information and counseling services to applicants and their families as well as designates and monitors educational institutions for student financial assistance purposes.

The Division uses one application form, to determine eligibility and in 2015/16, 99% of applicants applied online. Student Financial Services approves in the order of 6700 loans and grants valued at approximately $60 million per year.


There is an online application form for the 8 programs listed below:

  • Newfoundland and Labrador Student Loans Program;
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Up-front Provincial Grants Program;
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Debt Reduction Grants Program;
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Loan Forgiveness Program;
  • Canada Student Loans Program;
  • Canada Student Grants Program;
  • Canada Part Time Loans Program;
  • Transition Grant Program.

For more information, visit


The Division administers these programs for students enrolled in recognized post-secondary institutions in the province, throughout the country and around the world.


Director: Robert Feaver


Student Financial Services Division
Department of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
P.O. Box 8700
St. John’s, NL A1B 4J6

Physical Location:

Student Financial Services Division
Department of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
Coughlan College, MUN Campus
214-216 Prince Philip Drive
St. John’s, NLA1B 4J6
Telephone: 1-709-729-5849
Toll Free: 1-888-657-0800
Fax: 1-709-729-2298