

Government of Newfoundland and Labrador Environment and Climate Change Office of the Minister

JUL 1 4 2021

COR/2021/01817

Reg. #2136

Chad Evans Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro 500 Columbus Drive P.O. Box 12400 St. John's, NL A1B 4K7 chadevans@nlh.nl.ca

Dear Mr. Evans:

Re: Star Lake to Valentine Gold Transmission Line TL271 Project

Your proposal has been reviewed by an interdepartmental environmental assessment screening committee and an opportunity to comment has been provided to the public as required by Part X of the Newfoundland and Labrador Environmental Protection Act, SNL 2002, cE-14.2. Upon consideration of the comments received, please be advised that an Environmental Preview Report (EPR) is required.

The EPR is necessary to provide information concerning the potential effects of the undertaking on the surrounding environment. Additional information is required to describe the potential effects of the project on, but may not be limited to, the following:

- Caribou;
- Outfitters and related wildlife concerns,
- Traditional and cultural land uses, and,
- Cumulative effects.

A summary of the comments received from government agencies during the review is attached to provide you with advice for your consideration and inclusion in your project and in the EPR.

An Environmental Assessment Committee will be appointed for the purpose of providing you with technical and scientific advice regarding the preparation of an EPR. As per the legislative requirements, within 60 days of this letter you will be issued guidelines for the completion of the EPR. Please be reminded that, in accordance with the Environmental Protection Act, project activities may not proceed until the proposal is released from the environmental assessment process.



If you have any questions, please contact Joanne Sweeney, Director (A), Environmental Assessment Division, at 709-729-0673 or joannesweeney@gov.nl.ca.

Sincerely,

HON. BERNARD DAVIS, MHA District of Virginia Waters – Pleasantville Minister

c: Mr. Chris Tibbs, MHA Grand Falls-Windsor - Buchans Hon. Elvis Loveless, MHA Fortune Bay - Cape La Hune Hon. Andrew Parsons, MHA Burgeo - La Poile