ANNEX A

List of Steering Committee members and Key Informants (organizations, individuals and case studies)

List of Steering Committee members

Ms. Luanne Leamon Assistant Deputy Minister - Literacy

Department of Education

Dr. William Fagan Chairperson, Literacy Development Council of Newfoundland and

Labrador

Ms. Cindy Christopher Director of Policy and Planning

Department of Education

Mr. Terry Stapleton Department of Human Resources and Employment

Ms. Eleanor Swanson Director of Planning and Evaluation

Department of Health and Community Services

Ms. Charlotte Strong Acting Director, Corporate and Business Planning

Department of Education

Ms. Darlene Scott Community Representative

Community Services Council

List of Key Informants (Organizations)

Audrey Thomas

Agnes Pike

Alberta Learning Keith Anderson

British Columbia Ministry of Advanced Education, Training, and

Technology

Brother T. I. Murphy Centre Ann McCann

Bob Simms College of the North Atlantic

Valerie Anderson College of the North Atlantic

Don MacDonald College of the North Atlantic

College of the North Atlantic Pamela Walsh Sue Hoddinott College of the North Atlantic

Gail Gosse College of the North Atlantic

Community Services Council Penelope Rowe

Department of Education Rene Enguehard

Department of Education Luanne Leamon

Department of Education Rosemary Boyd

Department of Education Cindy Christopher

Department of Human Resources and Employment Allison Earle

Department of Human Resources and Employment Terry Stapleton

Emmanuel House Paula Greeley

Frontier College Caroline Vaughn

Human Resources Development Canada Doug House

Human Resources Development Canada Adrian Papanek

Human Resources Development Canada Rosemary Norris

Michelle Park John Howard Society

Labrador Literacy Information and Action Network Janet Skinner

Laubach Council Isabella Fry

Literacy Development Council of Newfoundland; Hope Colbourne

Family Resource Centre Initiative (five sites)

Literacy Development Council of Newfoundland and Labrador;

Partners in Learning

Literacy Development Council of Newfoundland and Labrador;

Humber Literacy Council

Bessie Merrigan

Manitoba Department of Education and Training Barbara Wynes Manitoba Department of Education and Training

Margaret Chambers

Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Adult Educators Roberta Yetman

Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Adult Educators Jeanette Winsor

Newfoundland and Labrador Library Board Dr. Snow

Nova Scotia Department of Education and Culture Carmel d'Entremont

Nova Scotia Department of Education and Culture Cathy MacCuish

Prince Edward Island Department of Education Barbara McNutt

Random North Development Association Michelle Brown

READY Centre; Community Services Council Darlene Scott

READY Centre; Community Services Council Rick Engram

Strategic Social Plan - Central Region Implementation Committee Heather Hillier

Strategic Social Plan - Executive Council Barbara Case

Virginia Park Community Centre Paul Lahey

Waterford Hospital Literacy Program Donna Kavanagh

Individuals

Munn Batstone

Cecil Godwin

Ed Oldford

William Shallow

Case Studies

Rabbittown Learners' Program Doris Hapgood, Administrator

Walter Andrews, Board Chair Greg Kirby, Board Member Focus group with instructors Interviews with learners

Corner Brook community case study Mary Hartson, Student/Tutor co-ordinator

Maureen Kennedy, Humber Literacy Council Paula Power, Employment Preparation Centre Tom Power, Human Resources and Employment

Bessie Merrigan, Board of Directors of Literacy Development Council; Humber Literacy Council member; President of Laubach

Literacy of Newfoundland and Labrador

College of the North Atlantic Grand Falls

Literacy Outreach

Lillian Moores, Instructor Harvey Parsons, Instructor

Cyril Farrell, Principal, College of the North Atlantic

Marystown Learning for Tomorrow Centre Carol Ann Farrell, Co-ordinator/Tutor

Marilyn Donahue, Director Laubach Council; Tutor

Interview with learner