## Acknowledgements

The Department of Education acknowledges the collaborative efforts of many individuals who contributed their time, efforts, and suggestions during various stages of the development of this curriculum guide. Appreciation is expressed to all of them.

**Joan Casey**, Program Development Specialist, Division of Program Development, Department of Education, coordinator of the pilot process and editor of the document.

Recognition is given to **Suzelle Lavallée**, Program Development Specialist, Division of Program Development, Department of Education, for contribution to editing the outcomes.

**Tanya Smith**, Teacher, Riverwood Academy, Wing's Point, Gander Bay, writer of the pilot draft of the curriculum guide and member of the pilot inservice team.

**Chris Vincent**, Teacher, Lewisporte Academy, Lewisporte, author of the pilot draft of the curriculum guide, member of the pilot inservice team, and editor of the document.

Special appreciation is extended to the teachers who piloted the program. Their valuable comment and suggestions are reflected in the curriculum guide:

Andrew Battcock. St. Michael's School, Goose Bay; John Boland, J. J. Curling Elementary, Corner Brook; Krista Mercer, St. Francis Elementary, Parson's Pond; Chris Osmond, Newville Elementary, Herring Neck and Summerford Elementary, Summerford; Cliff Powell, St. Anthony Elementary, St. Anthony; Deborah Sheppard, B.L. Morrison School, Postville; and Howard Stevens, St. Genevieve Elementary, Plum Point. Appreciation is extended to School District personnel who facilitated the pilot process:

**Darryl Feener**, Program Specialist, Labrador; **Betty King**, Program Specialist, Corner Brook/Deer Lake/St. Barbe; **Renee Sherstrobetoff**, Program Specialist, Corner Brook/Deer Lake/St. Barbe; **Harrison Smith**, Program Specialist, Northern Peninsula/Labrador South; and Diane Vey-Morawski, Program Specialist, Lewisporte/Gander.

Appreciation is extended to **Dr. Ralph Wheeler**, Associate Professor, School of Human Kinetics and Recreation, Memorial University of Newfoundland, who provided feedback on the pilot draft of the document.

The Department of Education would also like to thank **Brenda Wheeler** for Wordprocessing and Data Entry and **Rosalind Priddle**, Technical Editor, Division of Program Development, Department of Education, for producing this document for printing.