Some Historical Information about the Provincial Public Post-Secondary Institutions

College of the North Atlantic (Motto: Adeo Magis (Latin) - "So much more")

• After 1963, District Vocational Schools were opened in the following communities:

- ➢ Baie Verte
- Labrador City
- Bonavista
- ➢ Lewisporte
- Burin Placentia
- ➢ Carbonear
- Port aux Basques
- > Clarenville
- ➢ Seal Cove
- Corner Brook
- Springdale
- ➢ Gander
- Stephenville Crossing
- ➢ Grand Falls − Windsor
- ➢ St. Anthony
- Happy Valley Goose Bay

As well, a College of Trades and Technology was opened in St. John's and a Heavy Equipment School also was opened in Stephenville

- In 1967, an Adult Upgrading Centre was opened in Stephenville
- In 1977, the Bay St. George Community College was established in Stephenville incorporating the District Vocational School in Stephenville Crossing, the Adult Upgrading Centre and the Heavy Equipment School
- In 1987, two institutes and five community colleges were formed incorporating the former District Vocational Schools, the College of Trades and Technology and the Bay St. George Community College.

These public colleges were:

- Avalon Community College
- Cabot Institute
- Central Newfoundland Community College
- Eastern Community College
- Fisher Technical College (renamed Fisher Institute of Applied Arts and Technology in 1991)
- Labrador Community College
- Western Community College (renamed Western College of Applied Arts and Technology in 1991)

• In 1992, five Colleges of Applied Arts and Technology and Continuing Education were formed incorporating two institutes and the five community colleges.

These colleges were:

- > Cabot College of Applied Arts, Technology & Continuing Education
- Central Newfoundland Regional College of Applied Arts, Technology & Continuing Education
- Eastern College of Applied Arts, Technology & Continuing Education
- Labrador College of Applied Arts, Technology & Continuing Education
- > Westviking College of Applied Arts, Technology & Continuing Education
- The College of the North Atlantic was formed in 1997 incorporating the province's five regional colleges.

Grenfell Campus (Motto: Provehito In Altum (Latin) – "Launch forth into the deep")

- Memorial University's West Coast Regional College, located in Corner Brook, opened in 1975, and was officially named Sir Wilfred Grenfell College in 1979
- On September 10, 2010, Sir Wilfred Grenfell College was renamed Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland

Marine Institute (Motto: Ad Excellentiam Nitere (Latin) – "Strive for excellence")

- College of Fisheries, Navigation, Marine Engineering and Electronics was first opened in 1964 on Parade Street, St. John's, NL and was renamed in 1985 to Institute of Fisheries & Marine Technology
- In 1992, the name changed again to the Fisheries and Marine Institute of Memorial University of Newfoundland (popularly referred to as the Marine Institute)

Memorial University (Motto: Provehito in Altum (Latin) – "Launch forth into the deep")

- Memorial University College opened on September 15, 1925 at Merrymeeting Road and Parade Street in St. John's
- On August 13, 1949, the Newfoundland House of Assembly enacted legislation elevating Memorial University College to university status as Memorial University of Newfoundland
- On October 7, 1961, official opening of the new St. John's campus of Memorial University of Newfoundland located in the Elizabeth Avenue area