School Board Transition

The Provincial Government has announced there will be one English-language school board in Newfoundland and Labrador as of September 2013.

The four current English-language boards will see corporate services amalgamated into one office, located in St. John’s. There will also be a strong regional presence in offices in Gander, Corner Brook, and Happy Valley-Goose Bay, with senior executive and managers focused primarily on educational programming and student achievement. Itinerant teacher supports for students will also be located in these regional offices, as they have been in the past. In addition, many staff now located in satellite offices under the current board structure (Labrador City, Lower Cove, Stephenville, Grand Falls-Windsor, Burin, Clarenville, and Spaniard’s Bay), will be deployed directly into schools.

A transition committee has been established to oversee the consolidation of the boards, chaired by former educator, school administrator and Deputy Minister of Education Lorne Wheeler. Members of the transition committee also include the elected chairs and one additional elected trustee from each of the four current English-language school boards. The committee members are:

  • Goronwy Price (chair) and Guy Elliott, Labrador School Board;
  • Donald Brown (chair) and Nada Borden, Western School Board;
  • John George (chair) and Kim Cheeks, Nova Central School Board; and,
  • Milton Peach (chair) and George Sheppard, Eastern School Board.

For further information and transition updates, see the links below:

Progress Updates

News Releases

Contact Information:
School Board Transition Committee
District Head Office
Suite 601, Atlantic Place
215 Water Street
St. John’s, NL
A1C 6C9
Telephone: (709) – 758-2372