School Districts

Public school boards in Newfoundland and Labrador administer the daily operations of Kindergarten to Grade 12 schools within the Province. The boards are funded by the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development; are guided by trustees, and operate as the Newfoundland and Labrador English School District (with regional offices in Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Corner Brook, Gander and St. John’s) and the Conseil Scolaire Francophone.

There are two school districts in Newfoundland and Labrador: