Fire, Emergency and Corporate Services

Emergency Management Exemplary Service Award

At the Federal, Provincial and Territorial (FPT) meeting of Ministers responsible for Emergency Management in May 2017, Ministers committed to launch the Emergency Management Exemplary Service Award (EMESA).

The EMESA spans 5 categories, and will be delivered by federal, provincial and territorial governments. The categories are:

  • Resilient Communities;
  • Youth;
  • Search and Rescue Employees;
  • Search and Rescue Volunteers; and
  • Outstanding Contribution to Emergency Management

Information regarding the nomination process and addition information about EMESA can be found at:

Nominations for Newfoundland and Labrador can be directed to and should include the following information:

  • Summary of significant achievements to advance emergency management in Canada and/or to respond in an exemplary manner to a major crisis or emergency situation affecting life, health and/or property (e.g. 500 words)
  • For individual nominations: Brief biography of nominee and his/her background/history and nomination criteria (e.g. 250 words)
  • For group nominations: Brief overview of the group/project team, their background/history and nomination criteria (e.g. 250 words)
  • Written testimonials from at least two additional persons who can attest to the value and impact of the individual or group’s achievements (e.g. 250 words each). Each testimonial must be dated and signed.
  • Additional reference material to support the nomination, as required (such as media clippings, etc.)

The deadline for applications is August 30, 2019.

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.