Minister Congratulates 2020 School of Pharmacy Honourary White Coat Recipient

  • Health and Community Services

15 January 2020

The Honourable John Haggie, Minister of Health and Community Services, is extending congratulations to Dr. Linda Hensman, recipient of Memorial University’s School of Pharmacy Honorary White Coat for 2020. The annual White Coat Ceremony will take place on January 16, 2020 in the main auditorium of the Health Sciences Centre in St. John’s.

Dr. Hensman graduated from the University of British Columbia in 1974, with a Bachelor of Science (pharmacy). She obtained a Doctor of Pharmacy from State University of New York at Buffalo in 1978, and a Master of Business Administration from Memorial University in 1993.

From 2003 to 2014, Dr. Hensman was the Dean of Memorial’s School of Pharmacy and an associate professor until her retirement in 2016. Earlier in her career, she held clinical, academic and senior administrative positions in health-care institutions, namely St. Clare’s Mercy Hospital in St. John’s, as well as at universities across the country.

The honorary white coat tradition began in 2016. Previous recipients include Premier Dwight Ball, the late David Collins, Don Rowe and Arlene Crane.

“Dr. Hensman, a true leader in the pharmacy profession, is widely recognized as a trailblazer in redefining the scope of hospital pharmacy practice in Newfoundland and Labrador. An outstanding, well-respected professional, she is a most deserving recipient of the 2020 Honorary White Coat.”
Honourable John Haggie
Minister of Health and Community Services

– 30 –

Learn more
Memorial University School of Pharmacy

Follow us on Twitter:  @GovNL  and @HCS_GovNL

Media contact
Kathy Dicks-Peyton
Health and Community Services
709-729-6986, 699-1982

2020 01 15 10:45 am