Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador

Transportation

ACTIVITY PLAN

2017-20





MESSAGE FROM THE MINISTER

In accordance with the Transparency and Accountability Act, it is my pleasure to present the 2017-2020 Activity Plan for the Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation. The strategic directions of Government applicable to the Department of Transportation and Works have been considered in the preparation of this plan. I, along with my fellow committee members, am accountable for the preparation of the plan and the achievement of the objective contained herein.

The Minister's Advisory Committee consists of ten volunteers representing key stakeholders from across Labrador. Formed in 2006, the Committee provides a forum for Labradorians to share their views on transportation policies, programs and services.

Honourable Al Hawkins

Minister of Transportation and Works

A auli

Chair, Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation

Overview

On February 27, 2006, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador announced the formation of the Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation. The Committee is comprised of volunteers representing key stakeholder groups, individuals and businesses throughout Labrador. The committee provides a two-way forum to share views and provide advice on policy, programs and services, as well as, represents a common understanding of the transportation needs of people and businesses throughout Labrador.

Chaired by the Minister of Transportation and Works, the Advisory Committee consists of up to ten members and must ensure representation from across Labrador. Committee members are appointed for a two-year term, renewable at the Minister's discretion, and meetings take place when deemed necessary by the Minister.

The committee membership as of April 1, 2017 is comprised of:

- Gaius Trimm, Labrador Straits Business Development Corporation
- Junior Humphries, Deputy Mayor of Labrador City
- Trent O'Brien, Mayor of L'Anse au Loup
- Jim Tuttauk, Hopedale Inuit Community Government
- Melva Williams, Rigolet Inuit Community Government
- Didier Naulleau, President of the Combined Councils of Labrador
- Sterling Peyton, Chair of the Labrador North Chamber of Commerce
- Kate Mitchell, Nunatsiavut Government
- Mark Nui, Innu Nation
- James Holwell, NunatuKavut Community Council

Activities

The focus of the Committee is to serve as a two-way forum to share views and provide advice on matters concerning transportation in Labrador. Through open and candid discussions, the Committee represents a common understanding of transportation needs and ensures that the Minister is provided with the best information to inform decision-making regarding transportation in Labrador.

The Minister's Advisory Committee exists exclusively as an advisory body to government and therefore has not developed goals but rather a single objective that will be reported on annually throughout the duration of its 2017-20 Activity Plan.

Objective:

By March 31, 2018, the Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation will have provided advice to the Minister pertaining to transportation in Labrador.

Indicator:

Provided advice to the Minister, as necessary.