Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation

# **Annual Report**

2017-18







## **MESSAGE FROM THE MINISTER**

In accordance with the **Transparency and Accountability Act**, under which the Committee is a Category 3 entity, it is my pleasure to present this 2017-18 Annual Report for the Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation. This report provides an overview of the Committee's structure, activities, participants, and accomplishments during this past fiscal year. This report was prepared under my direction and I, along with my fellow Committee members, am accountable for the results contained herein.

The primary responsibility for core commitments related to transportation in Labrador lies with the Department of Transportation and Works. During 2017-18, new funding was secured from the federal government under the New Building Canada Plan for the widening and paving of the Trans Labrador Highway from Charlottetown Junction to Cartwright Junction.

As part of its mandate, the Committee contributes to a collaborative approach to addressing the transportation needs of residents, stakeholders and businesses in Labrador.

Sincerely,

Hon. Steve Crocker Minister of Transportation and Works

#### Overview

On February 27, 2006, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador announced the formation of the Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation. The Committee consists of key stakeholders representing individuals, groups and businesses across Labrador. This document represents the first annual report associated with the Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation 2017-20 Activity Plan.

#### Membership

Chaired by the Minister of Transportation and Works, the advisory committee consists of up to ten members and must ensure representation from across Labrador. Committee members are appointed for a two-year term, renewable at the Minister's discretion. The committee membership as of March 31, 2018 comprised of:

- Gaius Trimm, Labrador Straits Business Development Corporation
- Junior Humphries, Councillor, Labrador City
- Trent O'Brien, President of the Combined Councils of Labrador and Mayor of L'Anse au Loup
- Jim Tuttauk, former AngajukKak Hopedale Inuit Community Government
- Melva Williams, Nunatsiavut Government
- Didier Naulleau, Mayor of Pinware
- Sterling Peyton, Chair of the Labrador North Chamber of Commerce
- Kate Mitchell, Nunatsiavut Government
- Mark Nui, Innu Nation
- James Holwell, NunatuKavut Community Council

### **Financial Information**

The annual budget of the Department of Transportation and Works covers all costs pertaining to committee meetings as well as the travel costs incurred by members in attendance.

#### **Report on Performance**

The Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation exists exclusively as an advisory body to government, and therefore has not developed goals, but rather a single objective to be reported on annually throughout the duration of the committee's 2017-20 Activity Plan. Similarly, the same indicator listed below under this objective will also be reported on annually over this period.

#### Objective

By March 31, 2018, the Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation will have provided advice to the Minister pertaining to transportation in Labrador.

Indicator: Provided advice to the Minister, as necessary.

#### 2017-18 Results

The Minister's Advisory Committee on Labrador Transportation did not convene in 2017-18. However, the Minister, as Chair of the committee, has been in contact with committee members throughout the year for advice on matters relating to Labrador transportation. These matters included discussions on the Trans Labrador Highway as well as Labrador marine and air services.

