Meet the Researchers

To accomplish the goal of increasing food self-sufficiency and enhancing the local food system, it is essential to build bridges and make connections between disciplines. Through collaborative efforts, a diverse list of researchers with expertise in agricultural production, environment, economics, engineering, marketing, health and soil science have been compiled.

Name Organization Discipline Email Phone #
Abdul-Rahim Abdulai Environmental Policy Institute, Grenfelll Campus, MUN Social Science abdulrahima@grenfell.mun.ca 709-660-5062
Adrian Unc School of Science and the Environment Production, Environment aunc@grenfell.mun.ca 709-637-7153
Amana Kedir MUN Environment ajkedir@mun.ca 709-771-3146
Ashlee Cunsolo Labrador Institute of Memorial University Health ashlee.cunsolo@mun.ca 709-896-4702
Atanu Sarkar Division of Community Health and Humanities, Faculty of Medicine, MUN Health atanu.sarkar@med.mun.ca 709-864-4920
Barry Hicks College of the North Atlantic, Carbonear Environment Barry.Hicks@cna.nl.ca 709-596-8956
Bing Chen Department of Civil Engineering, MUN Engineering bchen@mun.ca 709-864-8958
David McKenzie St. John's Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Production, Environment david.mckenzie@agr.gc.ca 709-743-4181
Dawn Pittman Western Regional School of Nursing, MUN Health dpittman@grenfell.mun.ca 709-637-5000 ext. 5573
Deanne Simms Agriculture Production and Research Division, Dept. of Fisheries and Land Resources Production deannesimms@gov.nl.ca
Diane Tye Dept of Folklore, MUN Social Science dtye@mun.ca 709-864-4457
Emily Doyle PhD Candidate, Faculty of Medicine, MUN Health, Social Science emilyd@mun.ca 709-325-0907
Gabriela Sabau School of Science and the Environment, MUN Environment gsabau@grenfell.mun.ca 709-639-2552
Helen Zhang Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, MUN Engineering bzhang@mun.ca 709-864-3301
Ivan Emke Social & Cultural Studies, Grenfell, MUN Social Science iemke@grenfell.mun.ca 709-640-5725
James Dawson Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, Agriculture Production and Research Production jamesdawson@gov.nl.ca 709-637-2078
Jianghua Wu Sustainable Resource Management, MUN Environment jwu@grenfell.mun.ca 709-639-2735
Joinal Abedin Labrador Institute of Memorial University Production, Environment jabedin@mun.ca 709-896-7085
Jose Lam Business Program, Grenfell Campus, MUN Social Science jlam@grenfell.mun.ca 709-639-2575
Julia Wheeler St. John's Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Production, Environment julia.wheeler@canada.ca 709-793-3164
Julie Sircom Grenfell Campus, MUN Environment jsircom@grenfell.mun.ca 709-639-6515
Julissa Roncal Biology, MUN Environment jroncal@mun.ca 709-864-2241
Karen Kennedy Agriculture Production and Research Division, Dept. of Fisheries and Land Resources Production karenkennedy@gov.nl.ca 709-637-2662
Kelly Hawboldt Process Engineering, MUN Engineering khawboldt@mun.ca 709-864-8382
Lakshman Galagedara School of Science and the Environment, MUN Production, Environment lgalagedara@grenfell.mun.ca 709-639-2565
Linda Jewell St. John's Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Production, Environment linda.jewell@agr.gc.ca 709-772-4170
Lordwin Jeyakumar St. John's Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Environment lordwin.jeyakumar@agr.gc.ca 709-793-0213
Mano Krishnapillai Environmental Science, Grenfell Campus, MUN Production, Environment mkrishna@grenfell.mun.ca 709-637-6272
Merline Forkwe Labrador Institute of Memorial University Environment merline.fonkwe@mun.ca 709-896-8589
Morteza Haghiri Grenfell Campus, MUN Economics mhaghiri@grenfell.mun.ca 709-637-2190
Mumtaz Cheema School of Science and Environment/BERI Production, Environment mcheema@grenfell.mun.ca 709-639-6533
Nicole Babichuk PhD Candidate, Faculty of Medicine, MUN Health nab556@mun.ca 709-746-2996
Paul Foley School of Science and the Environment/EPI, MUN Social Science pfoley@mun.ca 709-639-2771
Peggy Dixon St. John's Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Production, Environment peggy.dixon@agr.gc.ca 709-793-3310
Raymond Thomas School of Science and the Environment, MUN Production, Environment rthomas@grenfell.mun.ca 709-637-7161
Richard Tingskou Agriculture Production and Research Division, Dept. of Fisheries and Land Resources Production ichardtingskou@gov.nl.ca 709-637-2441
Robert Bertolo MUN, Biochemistry Health rbertolo@mun.ca 709-864-7954
Sabrina Morris Agriculture Production and Research Division, Dept. of Fisheries and Land Resources Production sabrinamorris@gov.nl.ca 709-686-2702
Samir Debnath St. John's Research and Development Centre, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Production samir.debnath@agr.gc.ca 709-351-4673
Sarah Martin Political Science, MUN Social Science sarahjmartin@mun.ca 709-864-8181
Scott Harding Memorial Univeristy/Biochemistry Health sharding@mun.ca 709-864-2269
Shem Evans Environmental Policy Institute, MUN Production, Environment sevans@grenfell.mun.ca 709-691-4280
Vanessa Kavanagh Agriculture Production and Research Division, Dept. of Fisheries and Land Resources Production vanessakavanagh@gov.nl.ca 709-686-2702 ext. 229