Partners and Stakeholders

The Violence Prevention Initiative is coordinated by the Office for the Status of Women and fosters partnerships through collaboration with:

Violence Prevention Newfoundland and Labrador Organizations

Burin Peninsula Voice Against Violence  
Jennifer Coffey, Executive Director
60 Atlantic Crescent
P.O. Box 87
Marystown, NL AOE 2MO
Tel: (709) 279-4030
Fax: (709) 279-5387

Communities Against Violence
Stacy Harris, Executive Director
30 A Cathedral Street
P.O. Box 250
Harbour Grace, NL A0A 2M0
Tel: (709) 596-0726

Roads to End Violence  
Lori Oram, Executive Director
157 Airport Boulevard
Gander, NL A1V 1K6
Tel: (709) 651-2250
Fax: (709) 651-2295

Violence Prevention – Avalon East 
Val Barter, Executive Director
31 Peet Street – Tara Place, Suite 215
St. John’s, NL A1B 3W8
Tel: (709) 757-0137
Fax: (709) 754-4949

Violence Prevention East 
Tracey Fleming, Executive Director
105 Manitoba Dr., Suite 304
Clarenville, NL A5A 1K2
Tel: (709) 466-4676
Fax: (709) 466-4670

Violence Prevention Labrador (VPL) 
Petrina Beals, Executive Director
P.O. Box 869, St. B
114 Hamilton River Road
Happy Valley Goose Bay , NL A0P 1E0

Violence Prevention Northern Peninsula 
Darlene Rice, Executive Director
279 West Street
P.O. Box 847
St. Anthony, NL AOK 4SO
Tel: (709) 454-3351
Fax: (709) 454-2334

Violence Prevention South and Central
Katherine Arnold, Executive Director
5 Hardy Ave
Grand Falls-Windsor, NL A2A 2P8
Tel: (709) 489-8828
Fax: (709) 489-8620

Violence Prevention Southwest
Bernice Hancock, Coordinating Agency Representative
31 – 37 Gallant Street
P.O. Box 621
Stephenville, NL A2N 3B5
Tel: (709) 643-1022 / 643-5399
Fax: (709) 643-2293

Violence Prevention West 
Victoria Jones, Executive Director
98 Broadway
Corner Brook, NL A2H 4C8
Tel: (709) 634-6606
Fax: (709) 639-1093

Women’s Centres

The St. John’s Status of Women Council and Women’s Centre
Marguerite’s Place
170 Cashin Avenue Extension
St. John’s, NL AlE 3B6
Tel: (709) 753-0220
Fax: (709) 753-3817

Mokami Status of Women Council
Glenn Plaza – Hamilton River Road
P.O. Box 329, St. B
Happy Valley – Goose Bay, NL A0P 1E0
Tel: (709) 896-3484
Fax: (709) 896-3472

Bay St. George Status of Women Council
P.O. Box 501
Stephenville, NL
A2N 3B4
Tel: (709) 643-4444
Email: admin@bsgwomenscentre

Corner Brook Status of Women Council
P.O. Box 373
2 Carmen Avenue
Corner Brook, NL A2H 6E3
Tel: (709) 639-8522
Fax: (709) 639-1093

Gander Status of Women Council
1st Floor Polaris Building
61 Elizabeth Drive
Gander, NL A1V 1G4
Tel: (709) 256-4395
Fax: (709) 256-7767

Gateway Status of Women Council
P.O. Box 1359
4 Anderson’s Lane
Port Aux Basques, NL A0M 1C0
Tel: (709)695-7505
Fax: (709) 695-9756

Labrador Status of Women Council
P.O. Box 171
Labrador City, NL A2V 2K5
Tel: (709) 944-6562
Fax: (709) 944-4078

Status of Women Central
11 Hardy Avenue
Grand Falls-Windsor, NL A2A 2P8
Tel: (709) 489-8919
Fax: (709) 489-8919

Transition Houses

Gander & Area

Cara Transition House
AnnMarie Connors, Executive Director
P.O. Box 305
Gander, NL A1V 1W7
Local Crisis Line: 256-7707
Toll Free Crisis Line: 1-877-800-2272

Administration office: 709-256-9306
Fax: 709-256-6130

Grace Sparkes House
Lisa Slaney, Executive Director
133 Marine Drive
P.O. Box 327
Marystown, NL A0E 2M0
Local Crisis Line: 279-3562
Toll Free Crisis Line: 1-877-774-4957

Business Line: 709-279-3560
Fax: 709-279-3780

Iris Kirby House
Michelle Greene, Executive Director
St. John’s, NL
Local Crisis Line: 753-1492
Toll Free Crisis Line: 1-877-753-1492

Business Line: 709-722-8272
Fax: 709-722-0164

Hope Haven
Nicole Northcott, Executive Director
350 Booth Avenue
Labrador City, NL  A2V 2K1
Local Crisis Line: 944-6900
Toll Free Crisis Line: 1-888-332-0000

Business Line: 709-944-7124
Fax: 709-944-7747

Kirkina House (Rigolet)
Desiree Wolfrey, Executive Director
P.O. Box 59
Rigolet, Nunatsiavut, NL A0P 1P0
Crisis line: 709-947-3333
Business line: 709-947-3334
Fax: 709-947-3583

Libra House
Jessica Keating, Executive Director
(709) 896-8022
PO Box 449, Stn. B
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, NLA0P 1E0
Local Crisis Line: 896-3014 (voice/tdd)
Toll Free Crisis Line (NL only): 1-877-896-3014

Business Line: 709- 896-8251
Fax: 709-896-8223
General Email:

Nain Transition House
Nicole Dicker, Executive Director
P.O. Box 447
Nain, NL  A0P 1L0
Local Crisis Line: 709-922-1229
Toll Free Crisis Line: 1-866-922-1230

Business Line: 709-922-1230
Fax: 709-922-1424

Natuashish Safe House
Rose Poker, Coordinator
Natuashish, NL
Crisis Line: 709-478-2390

Business Line: 709-478-2390
Fax: 709-478-2392

Nukum Munik Shelter
Frances Nui, Executive Director
Sheshatshiu, NL

Crisis Line: 709-497-8869
Business Line: 709-497-8868
Fax: 709-497-8827

O’Shaughnessy House
P.O. Box 497
St. Clair Avenue
Carbonear, NL A1Y 1B9
Local Crisis Line: 596-8709
Toll Free Crisis Line: 1-888-596-8709

Business Line: 709-596-8208
Fax: 709-596-8003

Selma Onalik Safe House [Closed for renovations]
Teena Flowers, Executive Director
P.O. Box 70
Hopedale, NL A0P 1G0
Phone: 933-3420


Willow House
Heather Davis, Executive Director
P.O. Box 152
Corner Brook, NL A2H 6C9
Local Crisis Line: 634-4198
Toll Free Crisis Line: 1-866-634-4198

Business Line:  709-634-4199
Fax:  709-634-4197
General email:

Other Community Stakeholders

Indigenous Governments and Organizations

Provincial Government Departments and Agencies